NCAA Hockey Shake-Up

By Dan Rubin 

After two rounds of negotiations over the past week, the Western Collegiate Hockey Association is prepared to merge with the Central Collegiate Hockey Association for the [2013-2014] season.

The merger comes after 11 teams departed from both the WCHA and CCHA for different conferences, which included the newly formed, Big Ten Hockey Conference and National Collegiate Hockey Conference.

Over the past week, the two conferences did not include Notre Dame in their notes, especially since the Fighting Irish were rumored to leave for either Hockey East or NCHC. The merger also did not include the league names, but rather, the individual schools.

The new conference will retain the WCHA’s name, meaning the CCHA will retire its title after being founded in [1971-1972]. It will also feature schools from Alaska and Ohio, as well as Bemidji State, Bowling Green, Ferris State, Lake Superior State, Michigan Tech, Northern Michigan, St. Cloud State, as well as the aforementioned Western Michigan.

The new conference could also add Minnesota State-Moorhead, Alabama-Huntsville, Robert Morris, Niagara, Canisius, and Mercyhurst.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.