Mass. College Hoops: WPI’s Bartley Named Glenn Robinson National Coach Of The Year


Courtesy of the WPI sports information department, here’s this afternoon’s release about men’s basketball coach Chris Bartley, who was named the Glenn Robinson National Coach of the Year Award Winner:

Atlanta, GA — WPI men’s basketball head coach Chris Bartley is the recipient of the 2013 Glenn Robinson National Coach of the Year award.  Bartley received his honor Friday at the awards banquet in Atlanta as part of the Final Four weekend.

Bartley led WPI to a school-best 26 wins this winter as the Engineers won an NCAA Tournament game and as vaulted as high as No. 2 in the Top 25.  The 12th-year head coach grabbed his fourth NEWMAC Coach of the Year nod, the most in the 15-year history of the conference.

He guided the Crimson and Gray to 22 straight wins to begin the season and were the last undefeated team of over 400 in Division III.  Bartley helped the Engineers win their eighth NEWMAC regular season crown in the last 10 years and third NEWMAC Tournament title.

The award is presented annually to the top division III men’s basketball coach. Named after the longtime Franklin & Marshall coach, Robinson has over 800 wins and is currently twelfth on the all-time wins list.

He has took Franklin & Marshall to NCAA Division III tournament 22 times and guided the Diplomats to the Division III Final Four in 1979, 1991, 1996, 2000 and 2009.

Bartley was also a finalist for the 2013 John McLendon National Coach of the Year which is presented annually to the top collegiate head coach. The award will encompass Division I, Division II, Division III, NAIA and JUCO.  Georgetown’s John Thompson III won that award while the other finalists included Dana Altman (Oregon), John Beilein (Michigan), Tom Billeter (Augustana College), Derrick Clark (Metropolitan State), Jim Crews (Saint Louis), Jim Crutchfield (West Liberty), Jim Larranaga (Miami) and Johnny Tauer (Saint Thomas).

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.