New England D3 Football: BSU, Husson & WNE Headed To NCAA Tournament

NCAA Logo By (@NoontimeSports

It was announced last night that a trio of New England Division III football teams would be headed to the NCAA Tournament, which begins this Saturday, November 19th.

Bridgewater State, Husson University and Western New England all earned automatic qualifiers by capturing their respective conference title.

The Bears of Bridgewater State will hit the road to take on Alfred University while the Golden Bears will entertain the Eagles in Springfield, Massachusetts. Both kickoffs are scheduled for 12 p.m. eastern.

Western New England – this year’s New England Football Conference (NEFC) regular season champions – advanced to the NCAA Tournament last year, but fell in the opening round to Johns Hopkins.

Husson and Bridgewater State last appeared in the tournament in 2014 and 2012, respectively. Husson hosted MIT, but fell to the Engineers in an epic (and dramatic) first-round clash – the win was MIT’s first-ever NCAA Tournament victory. Bridgewater State fell to Widener in the opening round in 2012.

To view the entire NCAA Division III Football bracket – HOP HERE

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.