Tag Archives: Elliot Tobin

Mass. College Football: Stanfield, Tobin Lands on D3football.com Preseason All-America Team

By Matt Noonan 

Framingham State University’s Nick Stanfield and MIT’s Elliot Tobin were each honored by D3Football.com on Friday, earning preseason All-American honors. Both Stanfield and Tobin were selected to the second team.

Stanfield is a three-year starter for the Rams, coming off a solid junior season, which saw the Everett native collect multiple post-season awards. He was recognized by the New England Football Writers as a Division II/III All-New England selection, while being named the Massachusetts Sate Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) Offensive Lineman of the Year. Stanfield was a first-year all-conference selection and helped the Rams offensive line yield just eight sacks.

Tobin claimed the New England Football Conference (NEFC) Offensive Lineman of the Year award and was named a first-team all-conference selection and honorable mention All-American. Tobin assisted the Engineers’ offense in re-writing the MIT record book, guiding the Cardinal and Gray to the program’s first-ever conference crown. MIT captured its initial NCAA Tournament game, defeating Husson College in overtime.

Mass. College Football: 26 Players Earn USA College Football Div. III Preseason All-American Honors

By NoontimeSports.com 

The 26th Annual USA College Football Division III Preseason All-American teams were released today and 26 players were selected to the First, Second and Third Teams.

Below are the 27 players that received preseason honors, along with their school and position.

First Team:

Kemani Jones (Worcester State/RB)

Lucien Cance (Nichols College/ FB)

Keith Rodman (Springfied College /FB)

Kevin Gray (Anna Maria College /OL)

Nick Stanfield (Framingham State/OL)

Marcus Pettigrew (Westfield State/DL)

Luis Feliz (Fitchburg State/LB)

Dean Soucie (Western New England/LB)

Matt Mangano (Framingham State/DB)

Vinny Tavernelli (WPI/P)

Second Team:

Matt Silva (Framingham State/QB)

Chris Bettano (Anna Maria/ RB)

Brian Copeland (MIT/OL)

Joseph Hak (Bridgewater State/OL)

Kyle Regan (Endicott College/PK)

Quentin Jones (Framingham State/DL)

Jaymie Spears (Amherst College/DB)

Sean Murphy (WPI/DB)

Richard Bellizzi (UMass Dartmouth/P)

Third Team:

Ryan Sweeney (Westfield State/FB)

David Digiorgi (Curry College/FB)

Elliot Tobin (MIT/OL)

Joe Hanley (MIT/OL)

Elvis Romero (Bridgewater State/DL)

Derek Tarpey (UMass Dartmouth/LB)

Greg Sheridan (Westfield State/DB)