Tag: Kyle Pulek

Noontime’s All-Decade Connecticut & Rhode Island D3 Football Team


By NoontimeSports.com | @NoontimeNation 

Our Noontime Sports (and NoontimeSports.com) All-Decade Week continues with a brand new team: The Connecticut & Rhode Island D3 Football Team from 2010-2019.

This was a fun walk down memory lane, highlighting a slew of student-athletes we covered and interviewed over the past ten years that earned a variety of end of season honors, including D3Football.com All-American honors to first or second-team nods to program record-holders to the final Gold Helmet Recipients from the New England Football Writers (NEFW).  And as usual, we did our very best to highlight as many student-athletes from across both Connecticut and Rhode Island.

The All-Decade Noontime Sports Conn. & R.I. D3 Football Team (Offense)

Will Arndt (QB) Western Connecticut Sandy Hook, Conn.
Octavias McKoy (RB) Western Connecticut Stratford, Conn. 
Max Chipouras (RB) Trinity College Longmeadow, Mass.
Sam Pascale (RB) Salve Regina University Cheshire, Conn. 
Shea Dwyer (RB) Wesleyan University Marlborough, Conn. 
Christopher Hunt (TE) Trinity College Westford, Mass. 
Austin Baiardi (OT) Trinity College Smithtown, N.Y.
Nick Seara (OT) Wesleyan University South Ozone Park, N.Y.
Adam Iskra (OT) Salve Regina University North Haven, Conn.
Floyd Shaffer (OT) Salve Regina University Conshohocken, Pa.
Joe Magardino (OT) Trinity College  Chappaqua, N.Y.

The All-Decade Noontime Sports Conn. & R.I. D3 Football Team (Defense)

Hayden Stanton (DL) Salve Regina University Wallingford, Conn.
Taj Gooden (DL) Wesleyan University Brooklyn, N.Y.
John Salute (DL) Salve Regina University Mahwah, N.J.
Walter Fallas (LB) Trinity College Everett, Mass. 
Joe Rizzardi (DB) Coast Guard Academy Ashburn, Va.
Ben Thaw (CB) Wesleyan University Westport, Conn.
Jake Bussani (CB) Wesleyan University Pleasanton, Calif.
Phil Terio (CB) Salve Regina University Trumbull, Conn.
Harry Melendez (CB) Trinity College Holyoke, Mass.
Spencer Donahue (S) Trinity College Naperville, Ill.
Rae Haynes (S) Trinity College  Hartford, Conn. 

The All-Decade Noontime Sports Conn. & R.I. D3 Football Team (Special Teams)

Eric Sachse (K) Trinity College Jefferson, Mass. 
Michael Killoran (K) Western Connecticut  West Hartford, Conn. 
Chip Crowley (P) Coast Guard Academy San Marino, Calif.
Kyle Pulek (P) Trinity College Cheshire, Conn.


Mass. College Football: Amherst, Trinity Remain Unbeaten In NESCAC Play

Amherst Logo

By Matt Noonan 

The Amherst College Lord Jeffs and Trinity College (Conn.) Bantams remains unbeaten at the halfway point of the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) season.

Amherst (4-0) captured its fourth straight contest on Saturday, defeating Colby College, 31-13.

The win marked the Jeffs’ 15th consecutive victory dating back to their 2013 campaign (the victory marked the longest winning streak in program history).

Amherst overcame a scoreless opening frame by posting 17 second quarter points. Amherst, which led by three-scores (17-0) at the break, would tack on additional 14 points in the second half – one touchdown in each quarter – to secure the win.

Senior Jackson McGonagle broke a 73-year-old program recorded with a 78-yard punt return in the third quarter. The initial record – established by Roland Smith in 1942 – was a 74-yard punt return in a contest against rival Williams College.

Trinity (4-0) picked up its fourth win by edging Tufts University (3-1) in overtime on a 25-yard touchdown reception from sophomore Sonny Puzzo to classmate Bryan Vieira.

The Bantams extended the contest into overtime by capping a 13-play, 71 yard drive with a 27-yard field goal by senior Kyle Pulek with six seconds remaining.

Both teams are scheduled to compete in three weeks on Saturday, November 7 when Amherst hosts Trinity in what could be the de-facto NESCAC championship contest at 1:00 p.m. Amherst captured the NESCAC crown last year, finishing their eight-game slate undefeated.