NEWLA Tournament Seedings Announced

Can Taylor Clancy lead Bridgewater State to a fifth consecutive NEWLA title? (Photo Credit: Bridgewater State Athletics)

By Matt Noonan 

On Sunday, Apr. 29, the NEWLA, (New England Women’s Lacrosse Alliance) announced the seedings for their upcoming conference tournament, which is scheduled to commence on Wednesday, May 2.

Four teams qualified for the tournament, and Bridgwater State earned the top seed with an 8-0 conference record, and 10-7 overall record.

Westfield State is slated as the second seed, while Framingham State is the third and Fitchburg State is the fourth.

First Round Schedule: 

* Fitchburg State at Bridgewater State at 6pm on May 2

* Framingham State at Westfield State at 6pm on May 2 

The highest remaining seed will host the conference championship on Saturday, May 5. The time for the game has yet to be announced.

Bridgewater State has won four consecutive conference championships since 2008, while Western New England College rallied off four consecutive titles from 2003-2007.